[Skip to Content]


0151 525 5980
  Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Inspirational Aintree staff celebrated at annual staff awards

More than 380 staff from Aintree University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust joined together to celebrate and recognise the commitment and dedication to excellent patient care as part of the Trust’s annual staff celebration.

The ceremony, held at St George’s Hall, celebrated team and individual successes, efforts and accomplishments over the past year.

Earlier this year, staff and members of the public were asked to put forward nominations for teams and individuals that have gone above and beyond to help patients and to deliver outstanding care.

Awards were presented to 19 teams and individuals from across the hospital during the ceremony that was hosted by renowned actor, comedienne and singer, Pauline Daniels.

Some of those recognised at the ceremony include Paul Flynn, Governance Lead, who won the Proud of Aintree Award (pictured left with CEO, Steve Warburton and Chairman, Neil Goodwin).

The Proud of Aintree award is decided by members of the public who nominate teams and individuals who they feel have made a real difference to their care. It is the highest accolade in the hospital’s annual awards ceremony and chosen by grateful patients and their families.

Paul was presented with the public ‘Proud of Aintree’ award by Chief Executive Steve Warburton and Chairman Dr Neil Goodwin CBE after being nominated by a patient for his excellent work ethic, compassion and commitment to improving patient safety.

Principal Physiotherapist, Helen Ashcroft, was named Employee of the Year for her compassion and expertise providing care for patients with motor neurone disease as well as her research to find new ways to support patients at home.

More pictures of the award winners will be posted on Aintree's Facebook page soon.

The full list of winners is:

Divisional Awards – Contribution to Achieving our Common Purpose


  • Individual – Louise Walsh, Unit Manager, AMU
  • Team – Frailty Assessment Unit


  • Individual – Baher Hussein, Associate Specialist, Urology
  • Team – Breast Service Team

Diagnostics & Clinical Support

  • Individual – Michelle Berrick, Acting Admin Team Supervisor, Therapies
  • Team – Clinical Health Psychology Services

Corporate Services

  • Individual – Bianca Cooke, Resourcing Advisor
  • Team – Tower Block Catering Team

Contribution to Education & Teaching

  • Individual – Louise Brady, Deputy Ward Amanager, AMU
  • Team – NIV Therapy Team

Learner of the Year – Mark Mellor, Trainee ANP, Stroke

Outstanding Contribution to Safety

  • Individual – Jane Williams, Matron, DDU
  • Team – Physiotherapy Ventilation Team

Leader of the Year: Lisa Roberts, CBM, DME

Volunteer of the Year – John Mooney

Employee of the Year – Helen Ashcroft, Principal Physiotherapist

Team of the Year – DME / Stroke Leadership Team (pictured above)

Proud of Aintree Winner – Paul Flynn, Governance Lead for Surgery and Anaesthesia

Proud of Aintree Highly Commended – Matthew Burrows, Foundation Doctor.

Back to the top